Feeling The Fear and Doing It Anyway

I read this book by Susan Jeffers in May last year.

I’ve always been shy and nervous of new situations.

Meeting new people especially.

So I bought this book to try and get over this fear.

It had held me back.

I am a firm believer in changing things if you are not happy with them.

I read it and then put it away.

Didn’t really embrace it but one thing stuck with me.

Making your comfort zone bigger.

So on New Years Day 2014, I wrote down resolutions that would make my zone bigger.

I checked in on them yesterday.

I’ve done a lot of them.

Go to a gym class, which I had a huge phobia of.

Check.

Be brave.

Going to do a school talk tomorrow about waste – my suggestion.

Check.

Get a personal trainer.

It actually hurts to sit down after last night’s session.

Check.

I wished I have tried to make my comfort zone bigger a long time ago.

I get butterflies in my tummy for things still but I know how to channel them now.

I got asked to be a guest speaker at a business event last week.

I would have actually run away at the thought a year ago.

Nervous? Yes.

Looking forward to it? Yes.

I barely recognise me.

I’m definitely doing it anyway.

Leave a Reply

