Fussy Eating 1 Mummy 0

My children’s eating habits have always been the hardest thing about parenting for me.

I have turned a corner with the boy though, thankfully.

Using the hints from the book ‘French Kids Eat Everything’ worked a treat with him.

I wrote about this on the Baba+Boo blog.

He’ll eat anything in front of him now.

He even tried my lobster on holiday and loved it.

It sent Boo the completely wrong way.

She became so much worse and she became nervous and scared at meal-times.

It was distressing for both of us.

The first thing she asked in the morning was ‘what is for tea’ tonight.

So so stressful.

I was giving her a fear of food.

She struggles with new things in every aspect of life.

It all needs to be on her terms.

She needs order and she needs to be in control.

Very like me.

So I realised I need to start again with her.

And trying new foods needs to be her choice.

Now on Sunday, we sit and plan what she wants for her tea all week.

I have a very clever mummy, who made me a gorgeous family meal planner.IMG_3738

She is so much calmer.

She only has a limited choice of foods to choose from.

I’m really hoping that they will increase.

I’m actually quite certain that she will start trying new foods.

The foods she likes are not the healthiest of choices.

But so what.

She is happier.

We are both less stressed.

I am sure one day, she will like lobster too.

 

Leave a Reply

